John & Olly on winning streak

Thursday 16th September 2021

John Gough & Olly Huggins performing well at Home Internationals

Ben finishes strong at Stirling

Tuesday 14th September 2021

Ben Quick shoots 66 to finish 2nd

Taylor wins Autumn Trophy & Open Championship

Sunday 12th September 2021

Taylor Paul shoots -5 to win!

Kim shoots 65 to lift trophy

Boys from all over the country competed in the Douglas Johns Trophy at Harewood Downs on Thursday 29th July. With a chilly& breezy start the conditions proved challenging. Harvey Cooper (Huntercombe) set a clubhouse target of 74 (net 66) which sat at the top of the leaderboard until Alex Oddy from Orsett Golf Club shot a 73. Daniel Butteriss (Beaconsfield) managed to shoot 1 better (71) and Daniel Prince (Wentworth) took the top spot with a 70. Alex Wells (St George's Hill) and Monty Holcombe (Walton Heath) had very impressive scores of level par (69) to take the lead after round 1. With the leaderboard looking tight, it was all to play for in the afternoon. 

Scoring in the afternoon improved as the wind started to settle and the temperature increased. Harvey Cooper maintained his fine form by shooting a 78 net 70 which kept him in the lead for the net prize. Daniel Butteriss shot a 72 in the afternoon to give himself a total of 143 (+5). Dylan Hussey (Romford) improved on his first round by 8 shots, firing a 67 which included 7 birdies taking him into the lead by a shot. Monty Holcombe couldn't quite match his morning round but his 72 (+3) edged ahead of Dylan. As the leading groups returned, Monty couldn't maintain his lead for long as Kris Kim (Walton Heath) had a bogey free 65 (-4) to finish -2 for the event. Drew Sykes (Golf at Goodwood) played beautifully for a second round of 66 which just fell short, leaving him 1 shot behind Kris whilst Alex Wells replicated his morning round to finish level par for the event, a solid performance. With rounds of 71 and 65 Kris thoroughly deserved his win and as impressive as those scores were, he was pressed all the way by a field of young golfers that seems to get stronger by the year. His name will now sit on the trophy alongside some famous past winners such as Justin Rose and Ollie Fisher.

Congratulations to Kris Kim for becoming the Douglas Johns Trophy winner!

Kris Kim - Douglas Johns Winner 2021

Click here to view the full leaderboard. 

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.